^ DOG

There are times when I wonder why I got a dog. and not just any ole dog but a beagle! Those times are few and far between. Did you know that when you (or most people) touch a dog that your blood pressure goes down? 15000 years of interaction. 15000 yrs of survival, those who had dogs survived better. I remember chasing a chipmunk with Lady, she could get into spaces I couldnt but I could see where it ran to. Forming such a team with another species helped both species survive, it gave us security and of course it gave them security too. The partnership is not just a business you help me I help you deal, but more. It helped both LIVE.
I would have never taken as many walks around the block (1.5 miles) if it hadnt been for Lady. I would never have enjoyed them as much or smiled at her antics. (Sometimes it felt like having a clown on a leash, and then I got a 2nd beagle).
Sometimes she’ll lie down facing the front door and I know she wants to go for a walk. Sometimes in her sleep her feet will move as if she is walking, or chasing something. I owe her more than I can measure.
I recommend the package of love and care that comes with four feet a stomach and a nose known as a beagle.
….and if anyone has a spare beagle out there that needs a home….(my wife will kill me for this) send him this way…
martin lady and abby

ps. I’ve read this post several times since I first wrote it, often asking myself, “What does this have to do with cancer?” Each time I finish the last line and word with a slight smile on my face. They too are my friends, they too are my companions in my fight against my cancer. They help fill the void between being alone with my thoughts and being drawn into the world outside myself. 11/26/11.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment